Back

Heating for halls: Challenges and solutions

June 9, 2021
Person in einer industriellen Fertigungshalle.

Room volume, employee requirements, climate protection targets, heating costs and, and, and: When choosing the right heating system for your halls, you need to consider a whole range of factors. Read this article to find out what these are in detail and how you can master these challenges with a modern system.

The first challenge in heating halls: The special structural features

The biggest challenge in terms of heating for halls is probably the enormous volume of hall buildings and their ceiling heights of four, ten or more meters. Keeping these buildings at a constant working temperature in winter is anything but trivial. Especially if the energy costs are not to get out of hand. Added to this is the difficulty that no two industrial or commercial buildings are the same. High racks, overhead cranes, a wide variety of floor plans and usage profiles place very specific demands on the heating system to be installed.

Simply distributing a few heating devices around the room is not enough here. Due to their size and height, hall buildings have very special requirements in terms of building physics, which differ fundamentally from multi-storey buildings. That's why it's worth consulting a qualified hall heating expert to avoid having to live with compromises in terms of functionality and end up investing a lot of money unnecessarily for inadequate performance.

Not always in view, but a relevant factor when heating halls: Employee needs and a productive indoor climate

The structural characteristics of hall buildings also make it difficult to Indoor climate and thus ensure a good working atmosphere. However, this is a particularly important factor for the productivity of your employees: ideally, the temperature in the work area should be between 18 and 20 °C. But not every employee needs the same temperature. However, not every employee needs the same temperature: those who work physically would naturally like it to be cooler than their colleagues who work quietly while sitting or standing. This presents a further challenge when choosing the right heating system for your halls, as it means that you need to plan different zones that can be heated flexibly. Both in terms of work areas and usable zones.

Different hall zones require flexible systems

Let's take a closer look at what everyday life looks like in industrial and commercial buildings: In one area of the hall, goods that are sensitive to temperature and condensation are stored and must be kept at a constant temperature. At the other end, a door is left open despite the freezing outside temperature - why close it if it has to be opened again? There is no need to run the heating here. It would be a waste of energy and money. In between are the aforementioned workstations with different temperature requirements.

There are also overhead cranes that are occasionally parked under the heater and block the heat radiation. Perhaps the heating is also switched off overnight to keep operating costs low - and has to heat up again the next morning in time for the start of operations. Without long lead times, of course. In view of all these points, it makes little sense to rely on heating systems for halls that continuously heat the air. Flexible systems are needed!

Energy and climate policy is moving more into focus

However, when it comes to heating systems for halls, it is no longer just what happens inside the hall that counts. What happens outside the building is also becoming increasingly relevant. We are talking here about climate protection and therefore energy consumption. By 2030, primary energy consumption in Germany is to be reduced by 30 % compared to 2008, and halved by 2050 - according to the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy's Energy Efficiency Strategy 2050. Germany wants to promote energy efficiency in the building sector in particular.

For hall owners who are planning a new heating system, this means the next challenge is to to use the most efficient heating systems and fuels with the lowest possible emissionsto reduce energy consumption to a minimum. Ideally, the residual heat is also used to really get the most out of the heating for your halls. Making optimum use of energy in this way protects the environment and is in line with climate protection targets. Because one thing is clear: less fuel consumption means lower emissions. But it is also in your own interest to opt for energy-saving hall heating systems. Because:

The question of the right heating system for your halls is closely linked to the question of costs

Over their life cycle, hall heating systems consume six to twenty times more energy than the investment costs. This makes the operation of these heating systems significant cost drivers for hall owners, which are difficult to get under control without an efficient, flexible system. Let's go back to the aspects that arise from the structural features and everyday working life.

Heating the entire room volume: Unnecessary energy consumption. Air heated by warm air heaters that accumulates under the hall ceiling: Unnecessary energy consumption. Heating unused areas of the hall: Unnecessary energy consumption. Overheated hall areas because the heating cannot be flexibly controlled: Unnecessary energy consumption. Heaters that continue to heat even when the hall doors are open: Unnecessary energy consumption. Heaters that have only been heating up the overhead crane parked underneath for hours: Unnecessary energy consumption. Heating that does not match the hall's overall usage profile - unnecessary energy consumption.

The list could go on and on, but it has certainly already become clear: Only modern, intelligent heating systems that have been specifically developed as heating systems for halls can help you to avoid such energy waste traps and thus keep both investment and running costs low. And this also with a view to the future. Because heating costs will continue to rise in the coming years. The reason for this is the new legislation in force since January 01, 2021 CO2-tax for the use of fossil fuels. It therefore makes sense to focus on a particularly CO2-fuel such as gas and a highly efficient heating system for your halls - unless you want to accept the rising costs.

This makes it clear that there are a whole range of challenges when selecting heating systems for halls. It's good to know them and be able to avoid them. This raises the final question:

What is the solution to these challenges?

As described at the beginning, no two halls are the same. The selection of the right heating system for your halls must therefore also take your individual circumstances into account. There is no one-size-fits-all solution. In principle, however, from a ceiling height of four meters, you can master all the challenges mentioned with a modern, gas-powered infrared radiator system. With the help of intelligent control technology and modular extensions, problems such as open hall doors can be detected and the heating in this area can be switched off.

The heating can meet different temperature requirements depending on the zone. As infrared radiant heaters do not heat the air per se, there is neither dust turbulence nor unpleasant draughts. Nor does warm air accumulate unused under the hall ceiling. Put simply, this type of heating only heats what is really needed. In combination with natural gas as a fuel (which has a high primary energy factor and is becoming increasingly green) and clever use of residual heat (for example to heat adjacent offices), you kill all birds with one stone: manageable investment costs. High energy efficiency. Satisfied employees. Low total cost of ownership. Environmental protection. So choose the right solution from the outset when selecting heating for your halls!

Everything you need to know about energy-saving hall heating systems in practice
Saving energy is a big issue - across all sectors. If you want to put an end to inefficient heating systems, our guide is just right for you!
Request a free guide
You might also be interested in
  • In 2021, the new CO2-tax came into force. It is intended to help Germany achieve its climate protection targets. Read on to find out what this means for your company in terms of costs and what you should do now!
  • The BMWK is currently causing a stir with a draft bill. This is because it involves a categorical ban on gas heating systems. According to the plan, from 2024, only heating systems powered by 65 % renewable energies may be used. Formally, this can only be heat pumps, district heating or biomass heating. This raises the question: what about the openness of technology in Germany? And who should pay for it? Decentralized gas-powered heating systems are often the only economically and functionally viable solutions, especially in hall buildings.
  • High sickness rates are a burden for many companies. Many companies have discovered that this is not only dependent on the time of year and the incidence of infection, but can also be directly influenced. They are actively working to improve employee satisfaction and are developing suitable programs to increase this important factor.
  • Not only politicians have pulled the ripcord, many companies are also planning to extend the Christmas break and shut down operations at least until the second week of January. Machines will be at a standstill for weeks and the doors to the factory buildings will remain closed.
KÜBLER hall heating systems
Let's take the next step together
Every hall is different. With more than 30 years of company history, there is hardly a requirement that is foreign to us. Together with our customers, we have implemented the right solutions. If you are ready to implement economically proven heating concepts for your hall, then you have come to the right place.
Arrange a consultation now
Request a guide now

Raumvolumen, Mitarbeiterbedürfnisse, Klimaschutzziele, Heizkosten und, und, und: Bei der Auswahl der richtigen Heizung für Ihre Hallen müssen Sie eine ganze Reihe an Faktoren bedenken. Welche das im Detail sind und wie Sie diese Herausforderungen mit einem modernen System meistern, lesen Sie in diesem Beitrag.

Erste Herausforderung bei der Beheizung für Hallen: Die baulichen Besonderheiten

Die größte Herausforderung hinsichtlich der Heizung für Hallen ist wohl das enorme Raumvolumen von Hallengebäuden und ihre Deckenhöhen von vier, zehn oder mehr Metern. Diese Gebäude im Winter auf gleichmäßiger Arbeitstemperatur zu halten, ist alles andere als trivial. Vor allem, wenn die Energiekosten dabei nicht ausufern sollen. Hinzu kommt die Schwierigkeit, dass keine Industrie- oder Gewerbehalle im Aufbau der anderen gleicht. Hochregale, Deckenkrane, unterschiedlichste Grundrisse und Nutzungsprofile stellen ganz eigene Anforderungen an das zu installierende Heizsystem.

Alles, was Sie über ENERGIESPARENDE HALLENHEIZUNGEN IN DER PRAXIS wissen sollten

Energiesparen ist ein großes Thema - branchenübergreifend. Wenn Sie Schluss mit ineffizienten Heizungsanlagen machen wollen, ist unser Ratgeber genau richtig für Sie!

Einfach einige Heizgeräte im Raum zu verteilen, reicht hier nicht aus. Hallengebäude haben aufgrund ihrer Größe und Höhe bauphysikalisch nämlich ganz besondere Anforderungen, die sich grundlegend vom Geschossbau unterscheiden. Deshalb lohnt sich hier der Weg zu einem ausgewiesenen Hallenheizungsexperten, um in puncto Funktionalität nicht mit Kompromissen leben zu müssen und am Ende unnötig viel Geld für ungenügende Leistung zu investieren.

Nicht immer im Blick, aber ein relevanter Faktor bei der Beheizung für Hallen: Mitarbeiterbedürfnisse und ein produktives Raumklima

Die baulichen Besonderheiten von Hallengebäuden erschweren es zudem, das Raumklima wunschgerecht zu beeinflussen und so für eine gute Arbeitsatmosphäre zu sorgen. Gerade die ist jedoch ein bedeutender Faktor für die Produktivität Ihrer Mitarbeiter: 18 bis 20 °C sollte die Temperatur im Arbeitsbereich nämlich idealerweise betragen. Doch nicht jeder Mitarbeiter benötigt dieselben Temperaturen: Wer körperlich arbeitet, hätte es natürlich gerne kühler als der Kollege mit einer ruhigen Tätigkeit im Sitzen oder Stehen. Für die Auswahl der richtigen Heizung für Ihre Hallen stellt das eine weitere Herausforderung dar, denn es bedeutet, dass Sie unterschiedliche, flexibel beheizbare Zonen einplanen müssen. Sowohl was Arbeitsbereiche betrifft, als auch im Hinblick auf Nutzzonen.

Verschiedenste Hallenzonen fordern flexible Systeme

Schauen wir doch einmal genauer hin, wie der Alltag in Industrie- und Gewerbehallen aussieht: In einem Bereich der Halle werden temperatur- und kondensatempfindliche Güter gelagert, die gleichmäßig temperiert sein müssen. Am anderen Ende bleibt ein Tor trotz klirrender Außentemperatur offen stehen – warum sollte man es auch schließen, wenn es dann doch wieder geöffnet werden muss? Hier braucht die Heizung nicht zu laufen. Es wäre reine Energie- und Geldverschwendung. Dazwischen die bereits erwähnten Arbeitsplätze mit unterschiedlichen Temperaturanforderungen.

Hinzu kommen Deckenkrane, die hin und wieder unter dem Heizgerät geparkt werden und die Wärmestrahlung blockieren. Vielleicht wird die Heizung über Nacht außerdem abgeschaltet, um die Betriebskosten niedrig zu halten – und muss am nächsten Morgen pünktlich zu Betriebsbeginn wieder heizen. Ohne lange Vorlaufzeiten, versteht sich. Es ist in Anbetracht all dieser Punkte wenig sinnvoll, für Hallen auf Heizungen zu setzen, die kontinuierlich die Luft erwärmen. Flexible Systeme müssen her!

Die Energie- und Klimapolitik rückt stärker in den Fokus

Mit Blick auf Heizungen für Hallen zählt jedoch längst nicht mehr allein, was sich in der Halle abspielt. Zunehmend relevanter wird auch das, was außerhalb der Gebäude geschieht. Wir sprechen hier von Klimaschutz und damit dem Energieverbrauch. Bis 2030 soll der Primärenergieverbrauch in Deutschland im Vergleich zu 2008 um 30 % gesenkt werden, bis 2050 halbiert – so steht es in der Energieeffizienzstrategie 2050 des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie. Besonders im Gebäudebereich will die Bundesrepublik die Energieeffizienz dabei vorantreiben.

Für Hallenbesitzer, die eine neue Heizung planen, bedeutet das die nächste Herausforderung: Es gilt, auf möglichst effiziente Heizsysteme und Brennstoffe mit geringen Emissionen zu setzen, um den Energieverbrauch auf ein Mindestmaß zu reduzieren. Idealerweise wird auch die Restwärme genutzt, um wirklich alles aus der Heizung für Ihre Hallen herauszuholen. Wer auf diese Weise Energie optimal nutzt, schont dabei einerseits die Umwelt und handelt im Sinne der Klimaschutzziele. Denn klar ist: Weniger Brennstoffverbrauch – weniger Emissionsausstoß. Doch auch in Ihrem eigenen Interesse sollten Sie auf energiesparende Hallenheizungen setzen. Denn:

Die Frage nach der richtigen Heizung für Ihre Hallen hängt eng zusammen mit der Kostenfrage

Hallenheizungen verbrauchen über ihren Lebenszyklus hinweg das sechs- bis zwanzigfache an Energiekosten im Vergleich zu den Investitionskosten. Das macht den Betrieb dieser Heizungen zu wesentlichen Kostentreibern für Hallenbesitzer, die ohne ein effizientes, flexibel arbeitendes System nur schwer in den Griff zu bekommen sind. Gehen wir dazu doch noch einmal auf die Aspekte zurück, die sich aus den baulichen Besonderheiten und dem Arbeitsalltag ergeben.

Das gesamte Raumvolumen heizen: Unnötiger Energieverbrauch. Durch Warmluftheizungen erwärmte Luft, die sich unter der Hallendecke staut: Unnötiger Energieverbrauch. Beheizen von nicht genutzten Hallenzonen: Unnötiger Energieverbrauch. Überheizte Hallenbereiche, weil sich die Heizung nicht flexibel steuern lässt: Unnötiger Energieverbrauch. Heizungen, die auch bei offenen Hallentoren weiterheizen: Unnötiger Energieverbrauch. Heizgeräte, die seit Stunden nur den gerade darunter geparkten Deckenkran aufwärmen: Unnötiger Energieverbrauch. Insgesamt am Nutzungsprofil der Halle vorbeiheizen – unnötiger Energieverbrauch.

Die Liste ließe sich endlos fortführen, doch es ist sicherlich schon deutlich geworden: Nur moderne, intelligent arbeitende Heizsysteme, die ganz gezielt als Heizung für Hallen entwickelt wurden, helfen Ihnen, genau solche Energieverschwendungs-Fallen zu umgehen und somit sowohl die Investitions- als auch die laufenden Kosten gering zu halten. Und dies auch mit Blick auf die Zukunft. Denn in den kommenden Jahren werden die Heizkosten weiter steigen. Grund dafür ist die seit 01. Januar 2021 gültige CO2-Steuer für den Einsatz fossiler Brenn- und Kraftstoffe. Es ist also sinnvoll, zum einen auf einen besonders CO2-armen Brennstoff wie Gas zu setzen und zum anderen auf eine hocheffiziente Heizung für Ihre Hallen – es sei denn, Sie wollen die steigenden Kosten in Kauf nehmen.

Damit wird klar: Bei der Auswahl von Heizungen für Hallen gibt es eine ganze Reihe von Herausforderungen. Gut, wenn man sie kennt und so gezielt umgehen kann. Somit stellt sich abschließend die Frage:

Welche Lösung gibt es für diese Herausforderungen?

Wie eingangs beschrieben, gleicht keine Halle der anderen. Auch die Auswahl der richtigen Heizung für Ihre Hallen muss deshalb unter Berücksichtigung Ihrer individuellen Umstände erfolgen. Es gibt keine Pauschallösung. Grundsätzlich können Sie jedoch ab einer Deckenhöhe von vier Metern all die genannten Herausforderungen mit einem modernen, gasbetriebenen Infrarotstrahler-System meistern. Mithilfe intelligenter Steuerungstechnik und modularer Erweiterungen können Probleme wie offene Hallentore erkannt und die Heizung in diesem Bereich abgeschaltet werden.

Zonenbezogen kann die Heizung unterschiedliche Temperaturanforderungen erfüllen. Da Infrarotstrahler nicht die Luft per se erwärmen, kommt es dabei weder zu Staubaufwirbelungen noch zu unangenehmen Zugerscheinungen. Auch staut sich keine Warmluft ungenutzt unter der Hallendecke. Einfach ausgedrückt, heizt eine solche Heizung nur das, was wirklich nötig ist. In Kombination mit dem Brennstoff Erdgas (der einen hohen Primärenergiefaktor aufweist und zunehmend grün wird) und kluger Restwärmenutzung (beispielsweise zum Beheizen angrenzender Büroräume) schlagen Sie so alle Fliegen mit einer Klappe: Überschaubare Investitionskosten. Hohe Energieeffizienz. Zufriedene Mitarbeiter. Geringe Total Cost of Ownership. Umweltschutz. Setzen Sie also bei der Auswahl der Heizung für Ihre Hallen von Anfang an auf die richtige Lösung!