Back

Amendment to the Building Energy Act: Saving energy is only possible by differentiating between buildings - industrial buildings are not daycare centers

August 11, 2022
Diagramm Gebäudequerschnitte und Raumhöhen.

How is energy used correctly? What does efficiency mean? In the German government's current energy policy, there is a huge gap between aspiration and reality. After all, industrial buildings are not treated as industrial buildings because they only account for two percent of buildings - even though they are responsible for 15 percent of greenhouse gas emissions. The latter has not played a role to date. Behind this two percent are 420,000 to 480,000 hall buildings that are used in industry, commerce and municipalities as production halls, logistics halls, workshops, sports halls or sales outlets. A small number that is responsible for a significant proportion of energy consumption and GHG emissions in Germany.

It is obvious that there is enormous potential for saving energy in these hall buildings. With ceiling heights of 4 to 40 meters and areas of up to 10,000 square meters, their room dimensions cannot be compared with apartments, offices or daycare centers, which are usually built as multi-storey buildings with clear heights of around 2.50 meters. This also applies to the heating of such room colossi - it is much more demanding than in the much lower multi-storey buildings. However, this differentiation is currently hardly taken into account in the Building Energy Act.

"If such large rooms are to be heated in an energy-efficient manner, very special technologies are required. It has rarely been as urgent as it is today, utilize all technological resourcesthat are available to us to effectively counter the energy crisis," says Thomas Kübler, founder and managing partner of KÜBLER GmbH in Ludwigshafen. He is a proven expert in heating industrial halls.
Kübler says: "Efficient heating is about providing heat with as little loss as possible in the areas of the hall where people work and need heat. As a rule, this is not at a ceiling height of 10 or 20 meters, but in an area around 2.00 meters above the hall floor."
The efficiency of special hall heating technologies can be seen in energy-efficient refurbishment projects for industrial halls.

Up to 70 percent realized savings are not an isolated case in practice.

This already relieves the financial burden on companies with cost savings of several tens or even hundreds of thousands of euros per year, depending on the size of the project. The greenhouse gas reductions are correspondingly high. This enormous reduction in energy consumption makes a major contribution to achieving the necessary climate targets.
Appropriate technologies such as decentralized infrared hall heating systems could open up around 50 percent savings potential, i.e. around 65 TWh (65,000,000,000 kWh). With a CO2-share of 0.247 kg /kWh, this would correspond to around 16,055,000 tons of the greenhouse gas CO2.

If, in turn, only half of the relevant hall buildings were to be refurbished in terms of plant technology, the CO2-reduction is still around 8 million tons - a major step towards efficiency and climate targets. This potential is relatively easy to exploit due to the available technologies, a manageable number of decision-makers and the good economic aspects for the industry such as costs, ROI and return on investment.
However, it currently appears that these highly efficient hall heating technologies are being slowed down. Under pressure from the gas crisis caused by the Russian war in Ukraine and the climate targets it has set itself, the German government is banning the installation of gas-powered heating systems across the board from 2024, for example. In addition, the funding opportunities for gas hybrid heating systems were removed virtually overnight.

Kübler says: "These decisions have caused a great deal of uncertainty among those responsible in industry and commerce and also ignore the physical reality of buildings. This is because decentralized infrared heating technologies often represent a major challenge under the demanding conditions of hall buildings. the only ecologically, economically and functionally sensible option of the heat supply."

The promotion of heat pumps in multi-storey buildings (residential buildings and non-residential buildings such as offices, restaurants, kindergartens and hospitals) is an effective lever for the energy transition. However, this sector is already suffering from the scarcity of resources. To achieve the policy targets, 2,000 heat pumps would have to be installed every day.
"In addition to a lack of material availability, there are also not enough houses suitable for heat pumps in existing buildings and we are facing a major shortage of personnel in the skilled trades. Unfortunately, only a small proportion of the existing tradespeople are qualified to install heat pumps. There is a huge gap between policy and reality here," says Martin Oldeland, Deputy Chairman of the German Working Group for Environmentally Conscious Management (B.A.U.M.)
"In addition to availability, heat pumps also have the disadvantage that they can hardly play to their strengths in industrial buildings," says Kübler.

The use of heat pumps is in the renovation area of halls hardly possible.

After all, who could clear entire production halls or warehouses, including machinery, in order to install underfloor heating associated with heat pumps in the floor? The use of hot water-based heating technologies is also not very functional in new hall construction. In contrast to decentralized IR heating systems, hot water systems have the major disadvantage of not being able to effectively meet the frequently changing, locally and temporally variable heat demand in these buildings due to their inertia. For example, during shift operation, when the doors are open, when heating individual work areas (e.g. order picking in logistics halls) or when heating individual courts, for example in indoor tennis courts. Kübler says: "As useful as heat pumps are in residential and multi-storey buildings, they lag behind the weather in indoor buildings".

How can the great efficiency potential of decentralized hall heating technologies be used in the industry?

According to experts, everything stands and falls with the recognition of halls as a separate building category, which places special demands on heating technology and therefore requires suitable, special technologies. Among the most efficient of these are modern hall heating systems such as infrared dark radiators, which are operated with natural gas, liquid gas or biomethane mixed with green hydrogen - often with impressive savings of 30 to 70 percent (see above). The currently possible certification of 20 percent H2-The leading manufacturers have already added this amount. Under laboratory conditions, 80 percent is possible without any problems. 100 percent will be achieved with retrofit kits in the next few years. Modern decentralized infrared heating systems can not only use waste heat from heating systems via condensing boiler technology, they also incorporate waste heat from production processes, for example from compressors or hardening furnaces. Fully digitized, their efficiency can be monitored across the entire heating process and documented in certified energy management systems. The user-friendliness of these modern solutions is exemplary.

Another piece of good news is that these high-efficiency systems no financing problem.

This is because the hall heating can be rented. The cost savings resulting from the reduced energy consumption are usually so high that they not only compensate for the rental price, but also leave money for the company at the end of the day. The rental model therefore makes it possible to use modern efficiency technologies without having to invest - and, incidentally, without depreciation costs - and also generate a positive contribution margin. An attractive means of perhaps still achieving the long sought-after and as yet unattained refurbishment rate of 2 percent.

Everything you need to know about energy-saving hall heating systems in practice
Saving energy is a big issue - across all sectors. If you want to put an end to inefficient heating systems, our guide is just right for you!
Request a free guide
You might also be interested in
  • How will Germany heat from 2024 according to Federal Minister Habeck? First things first: the final answer is not yet available. This is because the draft for a new Building Energy Act (GEG) has only just made it through the cabinet. The next step will be to ask the Bundestag and Bundesrat. Nevertheless, the announced "end" for gas and oil heating systems has been making waves for months. And caused so much uncertainty that last winter, instead of investing in the energy-efficient refurbishment of their hall heating systems, industry often preferred to reactivate old oil and coal heating systems...
  • The BMWK is currently causing a stir with a draft bill. This is because it involves a categorical ban on gas heating systems. According to the plan, from 2024, only heating systems powered by 65 % renewable energies may be used. Formally, this can only be heat pumps, district heating or biomass heating. This raises the question: what about the openness of technology in Germany? And who should pay for it? Decentralized gas-powered heating systems are often the only economically and functionally viable solutions, especially in hall buildings.
  • Christmas is once again approaching surprisingly quickly - and, unfortunately, one or two challenges are on the horizon. From 3G and 2G plus to the next increases in energy prices. Congratulations if you have already converted your hall heating to an economical system from KÜBLER. This is a really good decision in many respects.
  • Dust-intensive work is not uncommon in production processes. It can become a burden - for people and for machines, such as the hall heating system. What should you pay attention to if you want to protect the health of your employees and at the same time benefit from the heating system for a long time? And is it possible to reconcile one with the other?
KÜBLER hall heating systems
Let's take the next step together
Every hall is different. With more than 30 years of company history, there is hardly a requirement that is foreign to us. Together with our customers, we have implemented the right solutions. If you are ready to implement economically proven heating concepts for your hall, then you have come to the right place.
Arrange a consultation now
Request a guide now

Zurück

Novelle des Gebäudeenergie-Gesetzes: Energie sparen nur durch Differenzierung der Gebäude möglich – Industriehallen sind keine Kitas

11. August 2022
Diagramm Gebäudequerschnitte und Raumhöhen.

Wie wird Energie richtig eingesetzt? Was bedeutet Effizienz? In der aktuellen Energiepolitik der Bundesregierung klafft eine große Lücke zwischen Anspruch und Realität. Denn: Industriehallen werden nicht als Industriehallen behandelt, weil sie nur zwei Prozent der Gebäude ausmachen – obwohl sie aber für 15 Prozent der Treibhausgas-Emissionen sorgen. Letzteres spielte bislang keine Rolle. Hinter diesen zwei Prozent verbergen sich 420.000 bis 480.000 Hallengebäude, die in Industrie, Gewerbe und Kommunen als Fertigungshalle, Logistikhalle, Werkstatt, Sporthalle oder Verkaufsstätte genutzt werden. Eine kleine Zahl, die für einen deutlichen Anteil des Energieverbrauchs und der THG-Emissionen in Deutschland verantwortlich ist.

Dass in diesen Hallengebäuden ein enormes Potenzial zur Energieeinsparung steckt, liegt auf der Hand. Mit Deckenhöhen von 4 bis 40 Metern und Flächen bis 10.000 Quadratmetern lassen sich ihre Raumdimensionen nicht mit Wohnungen, Büros oder Kitas vergleichen, die üblicherweise in Geschossbauweise mit lichten Höhen von etwa 2,50 Metern errichtet werden. Das gilt auch für die Beheizung solcher Raumkolosse – sie ist ungleich viel anspruchsvoller als in den sehr viel niedrigeren Geschossbauten. Diese Differenzierung wird im Gebäudeenergie-Gesetz derzeit allerdings kaum berücksichtigt.

„Wenn solche großen Räume energieeffizient geheizt werden sollen, sind ganz spezielle Technologien gefordert. Selten war es so dringend wie heute, alle technologischen Ressourcen zu nutzen, die uns zur Verfügung stehen, um der Energie-Krise wirkungsvoll zu begegnen“, sagt Thomas Kübler, Gründer und geschäftsführender Gesellschafter der KÜBLER GmbH in Ludwigshafen. Er ist ausgewiesener Experte beim Heizen von Industriehallen.
Kübler sagt: „Beim effizienten Heizen geht es darum, Wärme möglichst verlustfrei in den Hallenbereichen zur Verfügung zu stellen, wo Menschen arbeiten und Wärme benötigen. In der Regel ist das nicht in 10 oder 20 Meter Deckenhöhe, sondern in einem Bereich von rund 2,00 Metern über dem Hallenboden.“
Wie effizient spezielle Hallenheizungstechnologien arbeiten, lässt sich an energetischen Sanierungsprojekten von Industriehallen ablesen.

Bis zu 70 Prozent realisierte Einsparungen sind in der Praxis kein Einzelfall.

Die Unternehmen entlastet dies finanziell schon mit Kosteneinsparungen von mehreren zehn- oder sogar hunderttausend Euro pro Jahr, je nach Projektgröße. Entsprechend hoch fallen die Treibhausgas-Minderungen aus. Es werden durch diese enorme Reduzierung des Energieeinsatzes große Beiträge zur notwendigen Erreichung der Klimaziele erreicht.
Durch geeignete Technologien wie dezentrale Infrarot-Hallenheizungen ließen sich rund 50 Prozent Einsparpotenzial erschließen, also rund 65 TWh (65.000.000.000 kWh). Bei einem CO2-Anteil von 0,247 kg /kWh entspräche dies rund 16.055.000 Tonnen des Treibhausgases CO2.

Wenn wiederum nur die Hälfte der entsprechenden Hallengebäude anlagentechnisch saniert würden, läge die CO2-Minderung immer noch bei rund 8 Millionen Tonnen – ein großer Schritt in Richtung Effizienz- und Klimaziele. Dieses Potenzial ist aufgrund der verfügbaren Technologien, einer überschaubaren Anzahl an Entscheidern und der guten Wirtschaftlichkeitsaspekte für die Industrie wie Kosten, ROI, Rendite relativ gut erschließbar.
Aktuell sieht es jedoch so aus, dass diese hocheffizienten Hallenheizungs-Technologien eingebremst werden. Unter dem Druck der durch den russischen Ukraine-Krieg verursachten Gaskrise und der selbstgesteckten Klimaziele verbietet die Bundesregierung beispielsweise den Einbau gasbetriebener Heizungen pauschal ab 2024. Zudem wurden quasi über Nacht die Fördermöglichkeiten für Gas-Hybrid-Heizungen gestrichen.

Kübler sagt: „Diese Entscheidungen haben bei den Verantwortlichen in Industrie und Gewerbe für jede Menge Verunsicherung gesorgt und gehen zudem an der gebäudephysikalischen Realität von Hallen vorbei. Denn dezentrale Infrarot-Heizungstechnologien stellen unter den anspruchsvollen Bedingungen von Hallengebäuden vielfach die einzige ökologisch, wirtschaftlich und funktional sinnvolle Möglichkeit der Wärmeversorgung dar.“

Die Förderung von Wärmepumpen ist im Geschossbau (Wohngebäude und Nichtwohngebäude wie z. B. Büros, Gaststätten, Kindergärten oder Krankenhäuser) ein wirksamer Hebel für die Energiewende. Allerdings leidet der Bereich schon jetzt an der Knappheit der Ressourcen. Um die Ziele der Politik zu erreichen, müssten jeden Tag 2.000 Wärmepumpen eingebaut werden.
„Neben mangelnder Materialverfügbarkeit gibt es auch nicht genügend für Wärmepumpen geeignete Häuser im Gebäudebestand und wir haben es mit einem großen Personalmangel im Handwerk zu tun. Von den vorhandenen Handwerkern ist bisher leider auch nur ein zu kleiner Anteil für den Einbau von Wärmepumpen qualifiziert. Hier klaffen Politik und Realität stark auseinander,“ sagt Martin Oldeland, stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Bundesdeutschen Arbeitskreises für Umweltbewusstes Management (B.A.U.M.)
„In Hallengebäuden der Industrie haben Wärmepumpen neben der Verfügbarkeit zudem den Nachteil, dass sie ihre Stärken kaum ausspielen können“, sagt Kübler.

Der Einsatz von Wärmepumpen ist im Sanierungsbereich von Hallen kaum möglich.

Denn wer könnte ganze Produktions- oder Lagerhallen inklusive Maschinenpark frei räumen, um im Boden die mit Wärmepumpen assoziierten Fußbodenheizung zu verlegen? Auch im Hallenneubau ist der Einsatz warmwasserbasierter Heizungstechnologien wenig funktional. Im Gegensatz zu dezentralen IR-Heizsystemen haben Warmwassersysteme aufgrund ihrer Trägheit den großen Nachteil, dass sie den häufig wechselnden, lokal und zeitlich variablen Wärmebedarf in diesen Gebäuden nicht effektiv bedienen können. Zum Beispiel bei Schichtbetrieb, bei geöffneten Toren, bei der Beheizung einzelner Arbeitsbereiche (z. B. Kommissionierung in Logistikhallen) oder bei der Beheizung einzelner Spielfelder, beispielsweise in Tennishallen. Kübler sagt: „So sinnvoll Wärmepumpen im Wohnungs- und Geschossbau sind, in Hallengebäuden heizen sie dem Wetter hinterher“.

Wie können nun die großen Effizienzpotenziale dezentraler Hallenheizungstechnologien in der Industrie genutzt werden?

Unter Experten sieht man das so: Alles steht und fällt mit der Anerkennung von Hallen als eine eigene Gebäudekategorie, die besondere Anforderungen an die Heiztechnik stellt und demnach entsprechend geeigneter, spezieller Technologien bedarf. Zu den effizientesten zählen dabei moderne Hallenheizungen wie Infrarot-Dunkelstrahler, die mit Erdgas, Flüssiggas oder Biomethan im Mix mit grünem Wasserstoff betrieben werden – häufig mit beeindruckenden Einspareffekten von 30 bis 70 Prozent (s. o.). Die derzeit mögliche Zertifizierung von 20 Prozent H2-Beimischung ist bei den führenden Herstellern erfolgt. Unter Laborbedingungen sind 80 Prozent problemlos möglich. 100 Prozent werden durch Nachrüst-Kits in den nächsten Jahren erreicht werden. Moderne dezentrale Infrarot-Heizungssysteme können über Brennwerttechnik nicht nur die Heizungsabwärme nutzen, sie binden auch die Abwärme aus Produktionsprozessen ein, beispielsweise die von Kompressoren oder Härteöfen. Voll digitalisiert lässt sich ihre Effizienz über den gesamten Heizprozess monitoren und in zertifizierten Energiemanagement-Systemen dokumentieren. Die Bedienbarkeit ist bei diesen modernen Lösungen vorbildlich.

Eine gute Nachricht ist auch: Es gibt bei diesen Hocheffizienzsystemen kein Finanzierungsproblem.

Denn die Hallenheizung kann gemietet werden. Dabei sind die Kosteneinsparungen durch den reduzierten Energieverbrauch in der Regel so hoch, dass sie nicht nur den Mietpreis kompensieren, sondern unter dem Strich Geld für die Unternehmen übrig bleibt. Durch das Mietmodell lassen sich also ohne zu investieren – und übrigens auch ohne Abschreibungsaufwand – moderne Effizienztechnologien nutzen und zudem ein positiver Deckungsbeitrag erwirtschaften. Ein attraktives Mittel, um die lange angestrebte und bislang unerreichte Sanierungsquote von 2 Prozent vielleicht doch noch zu erreichen.

Alles, was Sie über energiesparende Hallenheizungen in der Praxis wissen sollten
Energiesparen ist ein großes Thema – branchenübergreifend. Wenn Sie Schluss mit ineffizienten Heizungsanlagen machen wollen, ist unser Ratgeber genau richtig für Sie!
Kostenlosen Ratgeber anfordern
Das könnte Sie auch interessieren
  • Der Metallverarbeitungsbetrieb «Die Kanter & und Schlosser» heizt seine Neubauhalle variabel mit Strom, Wasserstoff oder Gas dank der Weltneuheit von KÜBLER aus Ludwigshafen.
  • Das Thema Industrie 4.0 ist längst keine Zukunftsmusik mehr. Überall wird über die Digitalisierung industrieller Prozesse gesprochen – und auch in der Wärmeversorgung ist ein neues Zeitalter angebrochen. Erfahren Sie in diesem Beitrag, wie die intelligente Vernetzung beim Beheizen von Gebäudekomplexen aussieht und welche Möglichkeiten sie Ihnen eröffnet!
  •  Die Ziele der Bundesregierung sind ehrgeizig: Bis 2045 soll Deutschland klimaneutral sein und bei der Erzeugung von Wärme auf fossile Energieträger verzichten. Ein Ziel, das Druck auf die Industrie ausübt. Zahlreiche Neuerungen drängen auf den Umstieg auf Erneuerbare Energien – etwa das Brennstoffemissionshandelsgesetz (BEHG), das in der Wärmeversorgung einen ansteigenden CO2-Preis für fossile Brennstoffe festsetzt.
  • Hoher Krankenstand belastet viele Unternehmen. Dass dieser nicht nur abhängig von Jahreszeit und Infektionsgeschehen ist, sondern sich unmittelbar beeinflussen lässt, haben viele Firmen für sich entdeckt. Sie setzen sich aktiv für mehr Mitarbeiterzufriedenheit ein und entwickeln geeignete Programme zur Steigerung dieses wichtigen Faktors.
KÜBLER Hallenheizungen
Lassen Sie uns gemeinsam den nächsten Schritt gehen
Jede Halle ist anders. Bei mehr als 30 Jahren Firmengeschichte gibt es kaum eine Anforderung, die uns fremd ist. Gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden haben wir die passenden Lösungen umgesetzt. Wenn Sie bereit sind, wirtschaftlich erprobte Heizkonzepte für Ihre Halle umzusetzen, dann sind Sie bei uns richtig.
Jetzt Beratungstermin vereinbaren
Jetzt Ratgeber anfordern